About dancing. Rachmaninov’s fantastic symphonic dances.

Rachmaninov's symphonic dances,
described by him earlier as 'fantastic
dances' are his last major composition.
It leads from deeply human dances in the 
beginning to the dies-irae/All-Night Vigil -
dance in the end, a statement to afterlife.

A friend of mine once wrote to me in a
birthday letter:
,,Sometimes I imagine we all dance our
own unique dance.
That our life is one big dance. 
Thank you for letting me view your
Incredibly touching words.
I like the image of dancing our own
dance of life.

Listen to one dance in the first movement
at minute 5:38.
It is a very slow dance. I imagine an
endlessly turning caleidoscope,
glimmering in thousand colours.
Isn't it beautiful?
The next dance I would like to show you
is at minute 1:30 in the second movement,
a valse.
I imagine a through their love beautiful
couple, dancing very inwardly.
They are just dancing for themselves -
dancing their own dance of life together.
Listen to this beauty.
The following painting by Van Gogh 
describes this valse to me...
Couple Dancing, Van Gogh
The last dance I would like to show you
is a very different one.
It is about life and death.
It is the last dance in the end of the
third movement where Rachmaninov
mixes the dies-irae theme with the
theme of his All-night Vigil.
The theme of the Mass of the Dead
gets another ending here.
'Alliluya' writes Rachmaninov in the score.
Rachmaninov composes this at the end
of his life, one can feel a presentiment
to what comes after life.
What a statement.

Listen to the third movement minute 12:41.

What do you feel?