Guilt or love | Why the pauses in Schumann’s Nachtstück reveal a mystery.

Schumann: Vier Nachtstücke op 23 (1), Sviatoslav Richter

Love is the absence of guilt.

Guilt the absence of love.

Do you hear the pauses in Schumann’s Nachtstück?
Focus on the silences

and the music will tell you

That just one of those two things
exists forever.

Gentle accent, Kandinsky (1934)